2022 Ward Councilors

Ward 1

Maria Perez
110 Prospect Street, 01107
413-219-1038
mariaperezcitycouncil@gmail.com

Ward 2

Michael A. Fenton
210 Atwater Road, 01107
413-787-6170
mfenton@springfieldcityhall.com

Ward 3

Melvin A. Edwards
20 Dexter Street, 01105
413-348-8036
melvinspeaks@msn.com

Ward 4

Malo L. Brown
888 State Street, #44 01109
413-316-4743

malomiajane@yahoo.com

 

 

Ward 5

Marcus J Williams, President
342 A Boston Road, 01109
413-222-8673

marcusjw88@gmail.com

 

Ward 6

Victor G. Davila
71 East Alvord Street, 01108
413-297-8614
vdavila@springfieldcityhall.com

 

Ward 7

Tim Allen
141 Newton Road, 01118
413-427-4650
timallen1951@hotmail.com

Ward 8

Zaida Govan
1042 Berkshire Avenue, 01151 
413-301-2533  
zaida.govan@yahoo.com

 



2022 Councilors at Large

Sean Curran
470 Carew Street, 01104
413-787-6170
scurran@springfieldcityhall.com

 

Justin Hurst 
1746 Parker Street, 01128              413-374-5844 
jhurst@springfieldcityhall.com

 

Jesse Lederman, Vice President
1090 Worthington Street, 0109          413-285-3041     

jlederman@springfieldcityhall.com

 

Kateri Walsh
42 Magnolia Terrace, 01108
413-787-6170
kwalsh@springfieldcityhall.com

 

 

 

Tracye Whitfield
122 Cuff Avenue, 01104
413-285-2163

twhitfield@springfieldcityhall.com

 

2022 City Council Sub-Committees

Update To Be Posted Soon

 

Legislative powers of the city are vested in the City Council, consisting of five members elected citywide and one from each of the city's eight wards, for two-year terms. Annually, the council elects one of its members as president. The members receive reimbursement. If a mayoral vacancy occurs, the president of the council becomes acting mayor until a new mayor is elected.

The council holds hearings, passes ordinances, financial orders and resolutions, oversees city finances, votes on the budget, and may authorize the sale of bonds. Another important power of the council is land-use regulation through zoning ordinances and the granting of special permits. Although the council focuses on policy review, members can also discuss and question policies of the mayor's administration and review the performance of city departments. Members serve on standing committees, which study and review these matters. The council also elects the city clerk for a three-year term and confirms the appointment of the city auditor.

All council meetings are open to the public. Minutes are kept in the City Clerk's office and are open for public inspection. Citizens may speak at council meetings, at hearings, and by special permission. If they wish to oppose an ordinance already approved or to have one adopted, they may obtain action through a referendum petition or an initiative petition. A half-hour public speak-out session is held before every regularly scheduled council meeting.

Councilors also respond to individual problems and complaints from citizens.

The City Council generally meets on the first and third Mondays of each month. On an additional Monday each month the council holds hearings on zone changes and permits. All meetings are subject to the Open Meeting Law.

Page last updated:  Monday, January 10, 2022 08:56 am